Vendor License

Ohio law requires a vendor’s license for any business making retail sales of tangible personal property or taxable services from a fixed or transient location, including internet sales. A vendor’s license is available through the Auditor’s office, the Ohio Department of Taxation or the Ohio Business Gateway.

When completing a vendor's license registration form, business owners will need to know the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.  A partial list of codes can be viewed from the Ohio Department of Taxation.

A list of county vendor licenses that have been issued may be obtained from the Ohio Department of Taxation. All requests should be faxed to the Compliance Division at (614) 387-1847.

County Vendor's License

(ST 1)
  • For vendors with a fixed place of business (i.e., store, restaurant) or have a location from which the business is dispatched (i.e., landscapers, janitorial and maintenance service providers)
  • Vendors must have a separate license for each business location for which they are operating
  • Tax rate collected is based upon established county rate
  • Application fee $25

Transient License

(ST 1T)
  • For vendors who transport stock(s) of goods to temporary places of business in order to make sales (i.e., trade shows, flea markets, door-to-door sales)
  • Can be used statewide
  • Sales tax charged will reflect the county where the transaction took place
  • Application fee $25