Common law marriage was no longer recognized in the state of Ohio after October 10, 1991. The Probate Court has nothing to do with Common Law Marriage. If you need to provide verification of a Common Law Marriage that took place in Ohio, you need to contact the Social Security Administration in your area.
Show All Answers
Effective January 1, 2020, the fee for a marriage license is $70.00. You may pay this fee in cash, credit card, debit card, cashier's check, money order or by check drawn on a local bank made payable to Greene County Probate Court.
If you pay by check, issuance of the marriage license is conditioned on the check clearing the bank. We will not issue a Certified Copy of Marriage Record until your check has cleared and payment is confirmed. If the check is dishonored for any reason, there will also be a $50.00 returned check charge and a $25.00 administrative fee.
For Marriages After October 17, 1991, you can chose one of the following options:
Option One – Online
You may obtain your Certified Copy of Marriage Record online through our website by clicking on the following link:
Electronic Certified Copy of Marriage Record
There is no charge for an online Certified Copy of Marriage Record.
Note: The online version of your Certified Copy of Marriage Record is valid and accepted for many purposes, including at the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. It may not be accepted by the Social Security Administration, as that agency has not yet approved the electronic format of this record.
Option Two – In Person
You may obtain your Certified Copy of Marriage Record in person at our office at the following address:
Greene County Probate Court
45 N. Detroit Street
Xenia, OH 45385
The cost is $2.00 for each certified copy. Payment must be in the form of cash, money order or cashier’s check. There is no charge for active duty or retired military (with acceptable proof).
Option Three – By Mail
You may obtain your Certified Copy of Marriage Record through the mail by sending a written request to our court at the following address:
Your request must include all of the following:
For Marriages prior to October 1991 please contact the Record and Archives Department at (937) 562-6487.
Yes, we no longer accept walk-ins. You must start the application process online, please see the Begin the Application Process Online link on the Marriage License page. Once you have completed the online application it will ask you to schedule an appointment. You may not schedule appointments by phone.
To register with the Secretary of State or to find out if your minister is registered, call (614) 466-2585.